Skip to main content

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority


Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded on January 13, 1913 by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University. These students wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to persons in need. The first public act performed by the Delta Founders involved their participation in the Women's Suffrage March in Washington D.C., March 1913. Delta Sigma Theta was incorporated in 1930.

According to the official web site, "The Grand Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. has a membership of over 200,000 predominately African-American, college-educated women. The Sorority currently has 900-plus chapters located in the United States, Tokyo, Japan, Okinawa, Japan, Germany, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Seoul, Korea, and St. Thomas and St Croix in the U.S. Virgin Islands."

Quick Facts

  • Founded:  January 13, 1913 at Howard University, Washington, DC. Incorporated as a perpetual body in 1930.
  • Official Colors:  Crimson and Cream -or- Red and White
  • Official Flower:  African Violet
  • Official Web Site: