Skip to main content

Iota Phi Theta Fraternity

Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Inc. is the youngest of the "Divine Nine" Black Greek organizations and the last to be accepted into the National Pan-Hellenic Council. On September 19, 1963, at Morgan State College (now Morgan State University), 12 students founded what is now the nation's fifth largest, predominately African-American social service fraternity: The Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Incorporated.

According to the official web site, "As Iota Phi Theta continues to grow and strengthen, so will its commitment to make meaningful contributions to society in general, with particular emphasis in the African-American community. Throughout America, Iota Phi Theta has come to represent excellence in all areas. The Fraternity is, and shall forever remain dedicated to its founders' vision of 'Building a Tradition, Not Resting Upon One!'"

Quick Facts

  • Founded:  September 19, 1963 at Morgan State University, Baltimore, MD. Incorporated as a perpetual body in November, 1968.
  • Official Colors:  Charcoal Brown & Gilded Gold
  • Official Symbol:  The Centaur
  • Official Web Site: